Settlement Watch 
4 August 2013                                                                                              For Immediate Release
Contact: Lior Amihai +972-50-864-1433

 Israeli Government Declares 91 settlements As National Priority Areas:
89 of them East of the Built Separation Barrier.

Today, the Government of Israel approved the National Priority Area list. National Priority Areas are intended to “encourage development and the advancement of areas or communities that the government has decided are a national priority.” The 2013 National Priority Areas list includes 91 settlements: 75 located east of the built separation barrier, 14 within the planned route of the barrier, and two (Eshkolot, Sansana) inside the built barrier. 

Since the last National Priority Area list was released, nine settlements have been added, while three were removed (Efrat, Beitar Illit, Kedar). The new additions include the settlements of Eshkolot, Bruchin, Geva Binyamin/Adam, Hebron, Ma’ale Mechmash, Negohot, Nofim, Sansana and Rehalim. Until recently, Bruchin, Sansana and Rehalim were illegal outposts, however they were retroactively legalized as new ‘neighborhoods’ during the previous Netanyahu  government.

Peace Now: "The National Priority List provides a clear example of the  Israeli government choosing to incentivize and encourage Israeli citizens to immigrate into the settlements, especially into deep, isolated settlements that will not be included in any sort of peace agreement. This is not only illegal under international law, but it brings into question, whether this government  is truly ready to negotiate in good faith.”]

For the official list released by the Prime Minister's office see here. (Note this list is in hebrew)

social icon social icon social icon@peacenowIsrael